Cathysweightlossdiary

ImageFrom 2001 through to 2012 my wife, Cathy, ran a popular website called cathysweightlossdiary. At its simplest it was a blog following her continual battle with food, health and weight, but as she created all the pages herself from scratch (using Dreamweaver) and also created many non-diary pages of everything from holiday pictures to song lyrics it neither looked like a blog, nor was held back by the restrictions placed on most blogs. Eventually the ease of Facebook and WordPress combined with other demands on her time meant the website died. But I have all the pages on my computer!

I am working on translating this website into book form. It will not have the often eccentric layouts and colour schemes of the original, but I hope it will preserve the essence and humour of my wife’s “diary” entries and act, as the website did, as both an interesting look into someone’s life and a help and inspiration to the many men and women struggling day to day with their weight and health issues. It’s at times funny and other times sad but always written with my wife’s simple, casual and readable style. My own editing will be kept to an absolute minimum.

The plan is to make it available in both ebook and paperback format. Even if no one buys it, I’m enjoying putting it together and it will nice to have my wife’s words alongside mine on the bookshelf šŸ™‚

One final note – as I’m working on it, it seems to me that it might require more than one volume in order to prevent the paperback version becoming too large. I don’t think any of us realised at the start of this project just how many words and pictures Cathy put online over the years!

Needless to say, even though I am the one putting this together, Cathy will have final editorial say on whether it works or not.

As with my Dad’s writing a short while ago, it’s nice to bring someone else’s words into publication every now and then as well as my own.

After this… Cathy’s poetry – she wrote a lot of it when she was younger and I think it’s good! šŸ™‚

One thought on “Cathysweightlossdiary

Leave a Reply

