30 Day Blog Challenge – Day 13

Day 13 – Your 5 favourite books and why

Only 5? Now this one is really difficult. There are so many books I love and which are my favourites can change depending on my mood etc. but I will do my best. There is no particular order to this 5.

Among The Missing by Richard Laymon – perhaps not his best book but one that is special to me because it was my introduction to the horror genius that was Laymon. After this I tracked down all his other books and have read and re-read them ever since. My absolute favourite author.

Dracula by Bram Stoker – a classic and a book I have read many times. Love the whole atmosphere and the birth of a legend.

Dune by Frank Herbert – really this should be the whole original series but this is the one that started it. I came to this quite late but once it had its hooks in me I couldn’t stop reading.

A Fall Of Moondust by Arthur C Clarke – one of my earliest science fiction reads by one of my favourite all time authors. This one has always stuck in my mind.

The Devil Rides Out by Dennis Wheatley – one of the first books to actually send a chill through me and my introduction to Mr Wheatley. I have all his black magic books, now slowly collecting all the others.

Sadly missing from this 5 are books by Brian Keene, Steve Gerlach, Graham Masterton, H G Wells, Charles L Grant, James Blish, Robert Heinlein, Connie Willis and others, all of which could find themselves in the top 5 on a particular day. The only 2 that are immovable from that top 5 are Dracula and Richard Laymon (although the actual Laymon book might change).

Now a top 20 or 50 or even 100 might be easier 🙂

Leave a Reply

