30 Day Blog Challenge – Day 7

Day 7 – A picture of someone/something that has had the biggest impact on you

Interesting… let’s start with a few that almost made it to the top:

Richard Laymon, Arthur C Clarke, Frank Herbert – three amazing writers who inspire me to write more every time I read and re-read them. Writing is by far the biggest thing I want to do with my life.

Cat Stevens – it was the desire to play his songs that first led me to pick up the guitar and start learning chords. Every time I reached a chord I didn’t know in his songbook I had to learn it. Many years of writing and playing music were launched from this small beginning and both enjoyment and friendships have been the result.

However, there couldn’t really be any doubt who who make it to the top.

My wife, Cathy

Just a few of the ways she has made an impact on me:

She pushed me to actually sit down and finish the novel I’d been writing since long before I met her. This became my first published novel, A World Of Assassins.

She introduced me to the pleasure of eating out – something I’d never done before (apart from the very odd occasion on holiday with my parents).

She boosted my confidence simply by being with me. I was convinced I was pretty worthless before then.

She has supported, encouraged and stuck with me through some of the worst depressions of my life and she’s still here.

She gave me two wonderful kids (even though they can be pains sometimes, as all kids can).

I could go on, but I won’t. That’s enough. Sorry if it’s been too sickly for some of you 🙂

One thought on “30 Day Blog Challenge – Day 7

Leave a Reply

